Independent Broadcasters of Ireland

ibi-logo (3) The Independent Broadcasters of Ireland (IBI) was formed in 1989 following the Independent Radio and Television Act 1988 which paved the way for Ireland’s independent broadcasting sector. It was founded to champion the sector and to promote diversity and quality of broadcasting to Ireland’s radio listeners. Its membership consists of 34 national, regional, multicity and local independent radio stations licensed under the Broadcasting Act.

The mission of the IBI is to promote a strong and vibrant independent radio sector which reflects the preferences and needs of the listening public. The IBI lobbies both Government and regulator on behalf of the Irish listening public and constantly seeks to ensure that the quality of programming remains extremely high. In this regard, IBI regularly contributes to industry consultations and forums on issues ranging from programming to advertising to strategy.

The role of the IBI is to provide a distinct and coherent national voice in the ongoing campaign for competition equality across the broadcasting centre. To this end the IBI cooperates with Governmental agencies, advertising bodies, regulatory bodies, copyright societies and indeed other broadcasters both state funded and independent operating in Ireland. The IBI represents the independent radio sector on various groups and bodies including the Joint National Listenership Research (JNLR), Phonographic Performance Ireland (PPI) Awards, Advertising Standard Authority for Ireland (ASAI) to name but a few.

In order to encourage advertisers to consider radio as part of their advertising campaigns, the IBI brings the four independent radio sales houses and the state-funded broadcaster (RTÉ) together to work on commercial initiatives, examples of which would include RadioGAUGE and Choose Radio.

The IBI is managed by a board consisting of 10 industry members representing various radio broadcasters from around Ireland and an Executive Director. It is overseen by a Chairman who is elected every two years.

Chairman: John Purcell

Executive Director: Lisa Ní Choisdealbha

Members: 34

Percentage of the Audience: 70% of the total radio audience

Address of the organisation:

Macken House
Upper Mayor Street
Dublin 1

TEL. +353 (0) 87 2038956
E-MAIL: Lisa @
Twitter: @ibireland